Shaver Lake Chicken

Yummm….

This is a favorite from my childhood. It was this or Lemon Pepper Chicken (definitely a future post) marinaded in a ziploc bag at least once a month. I now make this marinade with about the same frequency. It’s the kind of dish that you can make way ahead of time and freeze for a future date, but I am a person that lives in the moment and rarely makes that smart of a plan. So… I barely remembered to take my chicken out of the freezer the night before so that it could defrost in the fridge overnight. Then I made the marinade in a tupperware in the morning (I am out of ziplocs and I keep forgetting to pick them up at the store). It sat in the fridge marinating throughout the day and then I fired up the barbecue in the evening in order to whip up this delicious meal.

DSC00421

After eating my husband gave the chicken a rating of a 9. Then he informed me that he was not ready to be a featured critic on the blog. His exact comments were, “It was really good.” and “It tasted good.” He apparently is a very descriptive man.

I served the chicken with green beans that were combined with some stewed tomatoes. They paired well and overall this recipe was a hit!

Recipe for Shaver Lake Chicken

6 boneless skinless chicken breasts or thighs                                                   3 Tbsp. dijon mustard

1/2 cup brown sugar                                                                                          1 1/2 Tbsp. lemon juice

1/3 cup olive oil                                                                                                   1 1/2 Tbsp. lime juice

1/4 cup cider vinegar                                                                                           salt and pepper to taste

3 cloves garlic, crushed

Combine all of the ingredients except for the chicken in a Ziploc bag. Mix well. Add chicken. Marinate for at least two hours. Grill over hot coals. Enjoy!

 
 
 

Leave a Reply

